Board index Equipment Scanners Loss of detail in B&W scans

Scanners

Loss of detail in B&W scans

girl_woody

Loss of detail in B&W scans

Post Tue May 11, 2004 8:57 am

Hi,

I'm very new to scanning my own negs [I started last night] and have a bottom of the range Primefilm 1800u scanner. I tried scanning some B&W (Kodak TMax 400) negs and have been very disappointed with the results. The image I get has high contrast, but I also lose any subtle detail such as clouds in skies, or writing on market stall signs. I can see this detail on the neg, so how do I get it to appear in my scan?

Any tips and pointers gratefully received :D

Rebecca

qleap

Try This

Post Sun May 16, 2004 4:41 pm

Rebecca,
I'm not sure exactly how you are doing your scans, but here are some suggestions. Always do a pre-scan. This is necessary so the scanner knows the exposure level for the final scan. The pre-scan will also give you a histogram of the picture showing how many pixels are at each level of brightness (0-255). This is called the dynamic range of the image. You can manually adjust the exposure level of the scan by "stretching" the dynamic range or by using a curve adjustment. (These are found under the "Curves and Levels" in Image Adjustment). Basically you are telling the scanner to change the brightness of a pixel to a new value (darker or lighter). This way you can tease out details in the original that are too bright or too dark. All this can be done after the final scan, but it is better to do it during the scanning process for best results.

Scanning is only the first step in producing a good quality picture. Image manipulation (the "digital darkroom") is usually required using image processing software. Post-scanning work will take more time than scanning itself.