Board index Equipment Film Cameras should i buy it?

Film Cameras

should i buy it?

uplinktheamatuer

should i buy it?

Post Tue Aug 09, 2005 3:30 pm

hey, im a student looking for a new camera, thing is, im rather limited on funds.... so i looked around my local scene and found someone willing to sell a pentax spotmatic with some extra lenses (<-- is that proper). the full description is:

- pentax spotmatic SLR (circa the mid 1960's) body with a super-takumar 1:1.4/50 mm lens ...it's been cleaned and looks like new, it has a brand new battery and comes with the original protective case...however, the light meter may be acting up

- a macro-takumar 1:4/50mm lens which also comes in a protective carriyng case

- a zeniton 1:2.8/135mm lens with protective carrying case

- a cable shutter release

the pentax spotmatic body is a screw-mount, and so all the lenses listed are screw-mount lenses.

so, good deal? all i need it for is highschool newspaper. and if i leave out the macro lens its down to $100

uplinktheamatuer

Post Wed Aug 10, 2005 3:29 pm

come on, guys!
Operation Photoshoot
Weapon of Choice: ElanII
Amunition: 35 Mill'
Scope: 50 Mill'

ckimmerle

Post Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:15 pm

It's hard to give this sort of "buy", "don't buy" advice since every individual has different tastes and preferences.

There's nothing inherently wrong with using an older film camera, but be careful to check that everything works consistantly. Aperature blades of older lenses have a tendency to stick due to 40-years of use, and dust can easily find it's way into lenses over the years.

The one thing that should raise warning flags is the "acting up" camera meter. How are you going to get the correct exposure without an operable meter? Sure, there's trial and error, but that's both time and supply consuming. Just be prepared for the extra expense of a meter.