Board index Equipment Film Cameras Why Film v Digital

Film Cameras

Why Film v Digital

nickdemarco

Why Film v Digital

Post Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:59 pm

OK, I am still a bit of a novice, but I find it hard to understand why people take such entrenched positions in this "debate"

I used to use film many years ago. Gradually I dumbed down from fully manual, then automatic SLRs and developing/printing my pictures to a little Olympus pocket compact film camera - for conveneince. I wnet digital a few years ago with an almost identical Olympus pocket compact digital camera which served me well.

Then last year I realised I wanted to take photographs again, to be creative, not just to take snaps. I went through a couple of cameras and a lot of money until I finally bought the Canon 5D and a few very nice lenses. I am delighted with the equipment I have and the 5D is about all I want in a camera. But discovering real photography again got me re-interested in film. I started experimenting with film SLRs again and then, more recently, collecting and trying to use old film cameras.

I have found the expereince very fullfilling. I realise what is both romantic and inspiring (as well as sometimes practical) about film. But I love my 5D and manipulating photos on the internet too. If I could only keep one camera it would be my 5D. And yet I get a buzz from going out with an old 1950's russian leica rangefinder copy and light meter in my coat pocet and taking black and white photos of objects or things I would otherwise ignore.

I think, or at leats hope, going back to film, using a fixed lens, being more sparing with my shots and having to learn more, particularly with manual cameras, about exposures, will help develop my photographic skills. I hope it will lead to both better film and digital results. But regardless of that, it is something I really enjoy to experiment with.