Board index Equipment Film Cameras New gallery with film and digital

Film Cameras

New gallery with film and digital

nickdemarco

New gallery with film and digital

Post Sat Jun 16, 2007 1:03 pm

I returned to Angkor Wat to take photos. I took 4 cameras with me: a digital SLR (Canon 5D), and three film rangefinders (Leica M6, Leica M4-P and Minolta CLE) and various, mainly wide angle lenses. I took digital photos, black and white and colour film, colour slides and infrared film.

Here are some of the film photos:

Black & White high speed Infrred film

Colour transparency

Black & White film

http://www.pbase.com/nickdemarco/return_to_angkor_wat

Please visit the gallery to see more and compare formats - and leave comments/votes :D

bruce46

Post Tue Jun 19, 2007 7:44 am

I haven't viewed the gallery but what I saw here is enough for me. I'm still new to photography and I'm also using a film camera, Canon EOS Rebel T2 which I bought on eBay about two months ago. Although I haven't tried black and white yet, I can deeply relate to the images you have posted. Thank you.

thayer16

Post Tue Jun 19, 2007 5:44 pm

Great images! Espesially the Infra-Red. If there's one area where film blows digital away, its IR. People have made some cool color adjustments in Photoshop to mimic film IR, but none of it comes close to the real deal (although they can have a very neat look). One question - I've heard the term a lot, but can you explain what a 'range-finder' camera refers to?

nickdemarco

Post Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53 am

Thanks for the comments.

Rangefinders are usually quite small 35mm cameras which focus by having a viewfindr coupled with the lens rather than operating as through lens focussing cameras (eg SLRs). Here is a photo of one of my favourite rangefiners in my collection:

There are many potential advantages to rangefinders in my opinion:

1. They are usually much smaller than SLRs, can sometimes fit in a coat pocket, and are less obtrusive.