Board index Equipment Film Cameras Good Lens Choice

Film Cameras

Good Lens Choice

jazzmech

Good Lens Choice

Post Sat Aug 21, 2004 8:28 pm

I recently purchased a Camon Rebel Ti and looking for lens recommendations. My interests are in portrait, buidings and flowers.

Thanks
Jazzmech

arachnophilia

Post Mon Aug 23, 2004 10:38 am

well, are you looking for one lens or three?

jazzmech

Post Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:32 pm

Sorry about the vagueness. Let's start with a landscape recomendation. I have focused on buildings and flowers.

Thanks for your reply!

Spencer

ukexpat

Post Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:31 pm

jazzmech wrote:Sorry about the vagueness. Let's start with a landscape recomendation. I have focused on buildings and flowers.

Thanks for your reply!

Spencer

What is your budget?

jazzmech

Post Tue Aug 24, 2004 7:37 am

Being a beginner, I'm lookig for something in the $150-300 range. I did a lil research and looking at the Canon 80-200m or the 75-300m EOS lenses.

Are there some better options for me? Another vendor who makes similar ones? I can srearch the web but I want user input.

Thanks
Spencer

snappingturtle

Post Thu Aug 26, 2004 7:46 pm

Hi,

For a begginner, I would reccomend that you go for the Canon 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 II USM. It is a great multi purpose lens. It can tackle wide angle as well as subjects that are not too far. The minimum focusing distance is close enough to get flowers and portraits. Its limits are a lack of constant aperture and the zoom is not long enough to fulfill a telephoto requirement. This lens sells for around $200. For more options, try this out.

http://consumer.usa.canon.com/ir/contro ... goryid=149

If you are not afriad to, you can try to look at aftermarket brand lenses designed for Canon. They are less costly and more effecient for non serious photographers. I reccomend Sigma. They offer the most options and at a decent quality.

Hugh

jim_panzee

Post Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:57 am