Board index Photography Technical Questions RAW files to get printed and posted here

Technical Questions

RAW files to get printed and posted here

Discuss technical aspects of photography
christophertravels

RAW files to get printed and posted here

Post Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:22 am

I have taken the plunge and bought myself my first DSLR, a Canon XTi. I've been using a P&S for three years, and I know it's limitations. Although I can take fairly good photos, I think I reached my limit with the P&S.

So now I can take RAW images. I know RAW is 16 bits, and JPEG 8 bits. But what happens when we convert to JPEG to post our photos here online? Is all that data lost / compressed to make 8 bit data? Can you tell the difference between a photo taken originally in JPEG or RAW here online?

And what about printing? If I send my images off to be printed by my local photography merchant, who wants JPEG images, then is all that data lost / compressed?

(I searched and couldn't find the answers to my specific questions about RAW, I hope someone can help)

dang

Post Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:28 am

I'd suggest checking these sites for some helpful info:
http://www.normankoren.com/sitemap.html
http://www.rideau-info.com/photos/index.html
:wink:

ghsmith178613

Re: RAW files to get printed and posted here

Post Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:38 am

christophertravels wrote:I have taken the plunge and bought myself my first DSLR, a Canon XTi.

Did your camera come with a software cd? Did you install same? Did part of the suite come with Digital Photo Professional 2.2? This is a file manager and RAW processing program.

I've been using a P&S for three years, and I know it's limitations. Although I can take fairly good photos, I think I reached my limit with the P&S.