Board index Photography Technical Questions Laptop dedicated to photography

Technical Questions

Laptop dedicated to photography

Discuss technical aspects of photography
mobuchu

Laptop dedicated to photography

Post Sun May 27, 2007 4:12 pm

So what suggestions would everyone make for a laptop used primarily for storage, organizing, editing, etc, for pictures?

What hardware is more important? Should I get a custom built, or does Dell or another company make a laptop that would be ideal? Anyone care to make a review of what they have? I'm a noob when it comes to computers so I really needed to ask...

Mo

gilp

Post Mon May 28, 2007 2:33 pm

I don't know about using a laptop for editing..unless you are ok with LCD or have a huge Mac LT

I do use a laptop for transer/storage, I have the smallest one I could find and HP pavillion 1100. but there are even smaller ones from toshiba.

I only have a 40g HD because I transfer the files from the laptop onto our studio server once I return from my location/trip.

ghsmith178613

Post Tue May 29, 2007 1:46 am

gilp wrote:I don't know about using a laptop for editing..unless you are ok with LCD or have a huge Mac LT

and somebody to carry it for you.
gilp wrote:I do use a laptop for transer/storage, I have the smallest one I could find and HP pavillion 1100. but there are even smaller ones from toshiba.

even with a seperate 80 gig, 2.5" usb drive, i only use mine for temporary and rough viewing.
gilp wrote:I only have a 40g HD because I transfer the files from the laptop onto our studio server once I return from my location/trip.

that wifi thing i was telling you guys about works really well. only needs a hot spot or a cell phone tower.
Forty years of photography.
Fifteen years of training young professional photographers.

gilp

Post Tue May 29, 2007 1:36 pm

sorry there...but your comments make no sense.

what does the wifi thing have to do with file storage and transfer?

ghsmith178613

Post Tue May 29, 2007 5:21 pm