Board index Photography Technical Questions Amatuer...what to charge a friend?

Technical Questions

Amatuer...what to charge a friend?

Discuss technical aspects of photography
sher811

Amatuer...what to charge a friend?

Post Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:09 am

I am not a professional photographer by any means

My friend asked me to take portraits of her beloved Doggy...

She wants to compensate me for my time and efforts

What should I charge her?

It will take about 2-3 hours total including editing after the shoot.

I will put all the pics on a cd for her and she is going to order whatever prints she wants on her own.

What is a fair / reasonable fee for this?

andrys

Re: Amatuer...what to charge a friend?

Post Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:16 am

sher811 wrote:I am not a professional photographer by any means

My friend asked me to take portraits of her beloved Doggy...

She wants to compensate me for my time and efforts

What should I charge her?

It will take about 2-3 hours total including editing after the shoot.

I will put all the pics on a cd for her and she is going to order whatever prints she wants on her own.

What is a fair / reasonable fee for this?

For a friend I'd just do it as a gift.

For an acquaintance or a co-worker I don't know well, that's another
matter.

sher811

Post Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:58 pm

its actually a "friend of a friend"

its my best friends stepmom...whom i have only met once before

i have only done photos for my friends for free before :)
Sher

ghsmith178613

Post Wed Jun 06, 2007 5:06 am

so, what do you earn on your day job? do you see any reason that you are not worth at least that?
Forty years of photography.
Fifteen years of training young professional photographers.

sher811

Post Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:05 pm

that's a good way to look at it...

i make 40$/hour teaching piano
Sher

ghsmith178613

Post Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:59 am

well, there you go. my physical therepist charges $90/hr.
Forty years of photography.