Board index Photography Technical Questions Good Books/Sites for learning Photography

Technical Questions

Good Books/Sites for learning Photography

Discuss technical aspects of photography
cartigayane

Good Books/Sites for learning Photography

Post Mon Oct 22, 2007 3:06 pm

Hi,
I am a newbie trying to learn photography. I have canon powershot S3 IS camera. I am experimenting taking photos with that.

Could some people give me some pointers(web site links / books) etc, which would help me learn/understand the concepts and do good photography.

Thank you very much.

jypsee

two suggestions

Post Mon Oct 22, 2007 4:15 pm

Henry Horenstein "Black and White Photography; A Basic Manual"
Horenstein's book is more than a text on how to do BW photography. It also teaches you about various cameras, relationship of aperture and shutter, exposure and metering. In short, a good technical explanation of what goes into making a photo whether you're using an analog or digital camera.

For a more aesthetic read, there's a new title by Michael Freeman, "The Photographer's Eye; Composition and Design For Better Digital Photographs." It's full of good examples of ways to "see" photos and make the photo you see.

halesr

Post Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:06 pm

First read your camera manual and get familiar with how to operate your camera.

Here is a book on exposure.
Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital Camera (Updated Edition) by Bryan Peterson (Paperback - Aug 1, 2004)

If you are working with Photoshop, anything by Scott Kelby is good. Match your choice to the version of Photoshop you have. If you are using Photoshop Elements, there are books on that software as well.