Board index Photography Technical Questions Question on color profile management

Technical Questions

Question on color profile management

Discuss technical aspects of photography
dapascha

Question on color profile management

Post Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:32 pm

I've been googling and experimenting for a while now, but the frustration has gotten to me, so I'll just ask the question... I've noticed my photos look decidedly different while editing in PS and when viewing them through a browser. Now I know this has something to do with different color profiles and the way different software interprets digital color data, but after (seemingly...) trying out every combination of profile conversion/assigning I get a whole range of varying differences between viewing an image in PS and online, but still: they're always different.

I'm not much interested in printing my photos, and not even in getting my colors as realistic as possible, I'm just an amateur with a hobby, so for now I'm only interested in getting them to look okay on pBbase. I've read that for the web the sRGB profile (is this the same as the "sRGBb IEC61966-2.1" that PS lists? or the e-sRGB?) is mostly used, but when I assign this profile (and/or convert it) to my images, save them as JPEGS, they still look different in a browser. I'm using a Konica Minolta Dynax 5D and use RAW images for editing (which in my camera's case use Adobe RGB I believe).

Can anyone give me a few tips on how to fix this? Any help or understanding would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks in advance!
Jasja.

dang

Re: Question on color profile management

Post Mon Dec 15, 2008 7:12 pm

There's numerous threads about this subject you can find by doing a forum search - at the top, just below the blue Pbase bar. :wink: Type in color profile, and you'll find lots of info...

But for quick reference, web standard is sRGB. Anything different will be converted, and you'll run into problems.
Next, be sure you calibrate your monitor.