Board index Photography Technical Questions Lost space on CF card

Technical Questions

Lost space on CF card

Discuss technical aspects of photography
hawkyey1

Lost space on CF card

Post Fri Jun 05, 2009 3:31 pm

I have been using my Nikon D200 for a few years now and using ScanDisk Extreme III 4.0 Gb CF cards.
Until a few weeks ago I could store 176 photos on a CF at the highest setting. Then something strange happened now the maximum amount of pictures are 154. I have not touched any settings and it goes for both cards :?: What gives???

Cheers

prinothcat

Re: Lost space on CF card

Post Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:58 pm

Have you ever done a base level format on those cards? In other words put them in a computer and format them? It may be that the file index needs rewriting. After you do a format with a PC or a Mac, you can then do a in camera to get the nikon file system back. I usually format my cards on my Mac once a month to make sure they are clean. I was told that the in camera format doesan't always get all the old data.

hawkyey1

Post Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:41 am

Hi prinothcat
No I have never done a base level format. Don't have a card slot on my PC and only transfer photos from camera to PC via USB cable. I'll go buy a CF card slot (which I have wanted to do for a while any way), but for this base level formatting - do I need any particular software?

Cheers

prinothcat

Post Sun Jun 07, 2009 3:59 pm

nope you just need to use which ever disk utility you normally use. Windows will use a format command, you'll need to find/figure that one out, I'm a Mac user. I just use the built in disk utilities.

waggonerphotos

Post Mon Jun 08, 2009 5:32 am

When you install the card reader your computer recognizes it as another drive. For example on my Windows PC, the CF