Board index Photography Artistic Questions How do I achieve higher standards?

Artistic Questions

How do I achieve higher standards?

Discuss style and artistic aspects of photography
bipasha

How do I achieve higher standards?

Post Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:34 am

The link below is for my favourite pbase photographer. Her photos are just amazing. I'm new to photography. Can some one tell me how to achieve this standard??

http://www.pbase.com/zippo/oldlayout

I had sent a message to the person directly but received no reply. Any inputs would be appreciated. I would really like to improve.

Regards
Bipasha

genghis45

Post Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:44 am

Shoot as often as you practically can. Practice your fundamentals, and practice and experiment with composing.

bipasha

Post Sun Jul 15, 2007 10:04 am

sorry ..but what's 'fundamental' and what's 'composing'?? Are there any links where I can read up about it? Does the camera make a big difference? I have a canon powershot s2.
Are the photos by Monique heavily modified using photoshop?

halesr

Post Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:10 am

Here is a link to Basic Photographic Techniques. It includes information on composition. HTH-Rene

http://photoinf.com/General/NAVY/Photographic_composition_Balance.htm

bipasha

Post Sun Jul 15, 2007 8:55 pm

Thanks for the link..will read up on it.

simplephotography

Post Mon Jul 30, 2007 3:05 pm

No question is easier to answer than this one: be passionate, take loads of photographs, ask questions and then shoot some more.
Why not contact that favorite photographer of yours and ask her whatever you want to learn?

I get lots of questions and I just love to help people out. But photography is my absolute number 1 passion, close to obsession, and I could talk about it 24/7. That's how I learned.

bruce46

Post Thu Aug 09, 2007 6:30 am