Board index Photography Artistic Questions Fairly new...seeking advice

Artistic Questions

Fairly new...seeking advice

Discuss style and artistic aspects of photography
tiffanyjeanne

Fairly new...seeking advice

Post Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:41 am

This may seem like an odd question. I currently use small digital point-and-shoot type cameras. After looking through my gallery, would anyone recommend that I step it up a bit and actually invest in a DSLR? If so, what is recommended, as for megapixels and zoom? As you can see, I love the outdoors, nature, shots.
(I am new to this and would like to go further.)
Thank you for any advice!

-Tiffany

akmc_in_au

Re: Fairly new...seeking advice

Post Sat Dec 27, 2008 7:26 am

tiffanyjeanne wrote:This may seem like an odd question. I currently use small digital point-and-shoot type cameras. After looking through my gallery, would anyone recommend that I step it up a bit and actually invest in a DSLR? If so, what is recommended, as for megapixels and zoom? As you can see, I love the outdoors, nature, shots.
(I am new to this and would like to go further.)
Thank you for any advice!

Hi Tiffany,

It's really a question that you need to answer for yourself. You've done some very good work with your little Coolpix, particularly in your Flowers gallery, but then there are other galleries where I noticed images which might have benefited from the greater flexibility and better sensors and lenses of a DSLR.

Really the two big questions are: