Board index PBase News support for extremetracking.com and Google Analytics

News

support for extremetracking.com and Google Analytics

slug
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 598

support for extremetracking.com and Google Analytics

Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:03 pm


There are now options to add tracking code for people who use extremetracking.com and Google Analytics. These services are similar to statcounter.com

See your account preferences page at http://www.pbase.com/account

Likewise with statcounter, you won't actually copy/paste any HTML or javascript as supplied by the tracking site. In the code, you'll see some values which are all that you need to enter on the PBase account preferences page.

Statcounter uses three values, Project, Security and Partition.

ExtremeTracking uses a Username, and a Vsrv (for their free accounts)

Google Analytics uses a Uacct name which will look similar to: UA-2309823-1

Note that with Google Analytics, it will take a while before you actually see any results on their report pages. I've had mine going for about 24 hours now and still no results.

After setting the values on your account settings page, you can verify that it's working by using your browser's View Source option to look at the actually HTML of a page. At the bottom, you'll see the tracking code.


Thanks to Chris Stone who has been actually implementing these new features. He's got a slideshow option in the works that'll you'll be able to include on a gallery to reproduce what many of you had accomplished with your own javascript. We'll make this available as soon as possible.

-Slug

prplexd
 
Posts: 96


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:21 pm


Thanks Slug,

My Extreme Tracker is up and running and I didn't have to do a thing.
I am a very satisfied PBase member for going on 3 years now, and appreciate the quick response.

PBase Rocks!!

slug
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 598


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:29 pm


prplexd.

Glad it worked for you.

I note that you still have the extremetracking link up at the top of the page, as well as the tracking code the PBase inserts at the very bottom.

You may want to remove the code you manually entered to avoid double counting.

Andrys has been asking me for a way to automatically remove such code from gallery descriptions. I'm hesitant to attempt this though since everyone enters things slightly differently and there's some risk of accidentally removing part of the gallery description text that I shouldn't have.
Also some people who have HTML only code in that's working just fine, wouldn't want it removed.

I know it's an unpleasant task to manually edit a lot of gallery descriptions, but it might end up being the safest way.

-Slug

scottmiron
 
Posts: 33


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:30 pm


Big Thank You!!!!!

yardbird
 
Posts: 613
Location: Palatine, IL

You guys rock!

Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:12 pm


Chuck, I know you've been getting a lot of complaints recently but I am very grateful for the way you and the Pbase team have responded.
Keep the improvements coming and slowly but surely the doubters will go away.
Cheers
Karthik
___________________________________
Karthik Raja Photography - https://www.beautifulworld.photography/
Incredible India at http://www.incredibleindiaphotos.com

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:15 pm


slug wrote:Andrys has been asking me for a way to automatically remove such code from gallery descriptions. I'm hesitant to attempt this though since everyone enters things slightly differently and there's some risk of accidentally removing part of the gallery description text that I shouldn't have.
Also some people who have HTML only code in that's working just fine, wouldn't want it removed.


But Chris did the important thing. His processes have made
the old existing Statcounter code NOT show up in the final
source code page (seen with right-click view/source while browsing).

It's blanked between Start and End of that old javascript code.
As a result, the ugly javascript-box-messages have disappeared
from the galleries.

We can manually remove actual code when we have the time,
as now it's not producing the error box, which is great !

Thanks for everything you're doing. The slideshow front page
capability sounds interesting and you guys are fast !

scottmiron
 
Posts: 33


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 1:17 am


FYI

I have not been able to get any results from ExtremeTracker with the new code implemented as of yet.

I did notice a difference in the last part of the code when compared to my old, now removed, code.

New PBase generated code (last 3 lines, login Xed out):

</script><noscript><div id="nneXTReMe"><img height="1" width="1" alt=""
src="http://nht-3.extreme-dm.com/n4.g?login=XXXXX&amp;url=nojs&amp;j=n&amp;jv=n&amp;pv=" />
</div></noscript>


My old code that works (last 3 lines, login Xed out):

</script><noscript><img height="1" width="1" alt=""
src="http://nht-2.extreme-dm.com/n2.g?login=XXXXX&amp;url=nojs&amp;j=n&amp;jv=n&amp;pv="/>
</noscript>

Notice the source address is slightly different, this might be variable depending on the user. I checked the code that ET generates for me and it still shows my code should read what's just above ....hope this helps.

Thanks,
Scott

slug
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 598


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 2:01 am


Thanks Scott,
I'll try to contact extremetracking and get the official word from them.
Hopefully they'll want to cooperate.

-Slug

jpalatella
 
Posts: 2

Restoration of services

Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:05 am


Slug and Chris,

Thanks so much for working so hard over the last 24 hours to not only restore, but improve the Statcounter function. I never could get it to work on individual pics, just galleries...so your solution is a great improvement!

I'm really looking forward to the new slideshow feature. Keep up the great work and get some rest.

John

srijith
Moderator
 
Posts: 2321
Location: Amsterdam

HOWTO @ PBaseWiki

Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:22 am


If you want any more hand-holding, here is a HOWTO thanks to Arjun
http://pbasewiki.srijith.net/howto/google_analytics

prplexd
 
Posts: 96


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 2:07 pm


In my previous post from yesterday, I said my extreme tracker was working...when I checked it this morning, however, it wasn't. I don't have time to screw with it today, so I'll probly just wait a few days till you get it all sorted out. In skimming the above posts, I see that Stat Counter allows indivual pic views, so I may wind up switching back. I had Stat Counter untill the code was deleted a few months back and for what ever reasons, the extreme tracker code worked, so I put that in. Thanks again for your work.
Al

tcom
 
Posts: 136


Post Thu Jul 12, 2007 4:52 pm


I can confirm that extremetracking is not working at the moment.

After filling the relevant information in my pbase account, I went to the extremetracking site to check if the code was inserted correctly. They site reported everything is ok, as well on galleries as on photos.

But something is still not working, as I do not get any hits.

dang
 
Posts: 3780


Post Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:18 am


8:25 PM EST
I'm assuming there's still work going on, since now, my old counter icons are showing in galleries where I haven't removed the old coding. I'm also only getting counts from those galleries, and not the entire site. Hopefully, they'll have an update to everything that's going on.

Also remember, Extreme Tracker only works on your "root gallery" when enabled by Pbase, since that the Terms of Service given by Extreme. I highly suggest adding Statcounter instead. With the addition Pbase has made, it tracks all galleries, and images by just inserting the code in your profile "edit account settings".

Another alternative that might be considered by the "Pbase Team" might be SiteMeter, instead. Like Statcounter, it should track all galleries with less limitations. But having Google Adsense, and Statcounter is more than enough for me.

Thanks Admin, any updates to share?

andrys
 
Posts: 2701


Post Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:53 am


Dang/Tom,
I'd just add that statcounter keeps in the ongoing log for free users,
deep details for the last 500 pageloads, including referral-page
information and visitor paths (anonymous except for IP host #s) so
you can see what galleries or images might have encouraged
visitors to look at more.

They make their money from your being on their site checking out
all the different analyses and while doing so seeing ads displayed,
but the ads are not particularly annoying either. Well worth it.

scottmiron
 
Posts: 33


Post Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:18 am


Actually Dang you're misinformed on ExtremeTracking.

The conditions you mention are for the free version. If you pay for the service, as I do, you can have the code on as many pages as you want, I don't have any ads on any of the pages I use to view stats, I can track up to 10,000 page loads per day, detailed stats going back to the time I signed up for the service....basically a boatload of features. So I am very interested in getting my ET working again.

With the code examples I posted in my previous post it looks like all that PBase would have to do is add an additional info box to my profile page that asks for the source address of our invisible icon (ie http://nht-2.extreme-dm.com/n2.g?login= ... =n&amp;pv=)

Instead PBase is assuming everyone has the same address and the only variable is the login. Not true. If they just added that option it would be fixed and working I think.

Scott

Next

Board index PBase News support for extremetracking.com and Google Analytics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot and 0 guests