Board index PBase News New Edit Page

News

New Edit Page

enjayel
 
Posts: 326

Re: New Edit Page

Post Wed May 04, 2011 3:53 am


seem to have found a small bug..

even with html selected for the gallery, adding a "<br>" command in the title does not work in the new edit page.. it adds a blank, rather than a new line..
(I'm definitely not an html guru, so there may be a better way, but it works consistently in the old edit page)

cheers,
nancy

merriwolf
 
Posts: 122
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada

Re: New Edit Page

Post Wed May 04, 2011 1:31 pm


I'm really liking the new edit page. A couple of comments though...

1. It would be great to have a way to delete GPS data from a file, or at least a way to hide it. I keep forgetting to delete it before uploading and then realize it only when I see the 'view map' show up on the file's page and either have to leave it or delete that file and reupload one with the GPS data removed. Would be much better to simply have a way to delete it or hide it on PBase.

2. When the Gallery Tree expands past the height of its pane and the scroll bar activates, clicking on that scroll bar with the mouse to drag it doesn't work, but the mouse wheel does work to scroll down. This is in Firefox 3.6.17 on my Mac (OS X 10.6.7) and PC (Win XP SP2).

Regards,
Gordon W

ckirby
PBase Admin
PBase Admin
 
Posts: 85

Re: New Edit Page

Post Thu May 05, 2011 4:28 pm


I just added an upload progress bar on the new edit page.

merriwolf wrote:2. When the Gallery Tree expands past the height of its pane and the scroll bar activates, clicking on that scroll bar with the mouse to drag it doesn't work, but the mouse wheel does work to scroll down.

I moved the collapse button up a bit so that it doesn't overlap the scrollbars anymore and fixed something else that was preventing clicking on the scrollbar, thanks for the catch.

mccartney
 
Posts: 96

Re: New Edit Page

Post Thu May 05, 2011 7:30 pm


Just discovered a new glitch as I was adding the "link=none" definition to my slideshow options in my root gallery description field.

If I use the new edit tool to do this, my copyright symbol displays on the home page as © instead of just ©
The new edit tool is adding the ALT character 0194 in front of the copyright symbol.

I tested this a few times using the new edit tool and the original tool and it does not happen with the old edit tool.
Barry McCartney Photography - http://www.pbase.com/mccartney

merriwolf
 
Posts: 122
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada

Re: New Edit Page

Post Thu May 05, 2011 8:57 pm


ckirby wrote:
merriwolf wrote:2. When the Gallery Tree expands past the height of its pane and the scroll bar activates, clicking on that scroll bar with the mouse to drag it doesn't work, but the mouse wheel does work to scroll down.

I moved the collapse button up a bit so that it doesn't overlap the scrollbars anymore and fixed something else that was preventing clicking on the scrollbar, thanks for the catch.

Works great now. Thanks!

One more minor glitch I just noticed. I recently copied (not moved) one of my root galleries to a relevant inner gallery. The original gallery in the root directory contains only galleries, but it now has the grey folder icon indicating it contains no galleries and no longer expands. However, the copy which is buried a few levels deep and a bit of a chore to get to is the one that now has the expandable blue folder. This seems backward to me. The original, I would think, should always be the expandable gallery. Better yet would be to have both original and copy expand.

emily
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 745

Re: New Edit Page

Post Mon May 09, 2011 4:11 pm


merriwolf wrote:One more minor glitch I just noticed. I recently copied (not moved) one of my root galleries to a relevant inner gallery. The original gallery in the root directory contains only galleries, but it now has the grey folder icon indicating it contains no galleries and no longer expands. However, the copy which is buried a few levels deep and a bit of a chore to get to is the one that now has the expandable blue folder. This seems backward to me. The original, I would think, should always be the expandable gallery. Better yet would be to have both original and copy expand.

We got this fixed. It was a bug in the way the gallery tree is created in certain situations where there are copies of galleries.

emily
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 745

Re: New Edit Page

Post Mon May 09, 2011 4:17 pm


merriwolf wrote:1. It would be great to have a way to delete GPS data from a file, or at least a way to hide it. I keep forgetting to delete it before uploading and then realize it only when I see the 'view map' show up on the file's page and either have to leave it or delete that file and reupload one with the GPS data removed. Would be much better to simply have a way to delete it or hide it on PBase.

You can click geotag this photo on the edit image tab and click the delete link for that mapping to avoid having to strip the GPS info from the image and reupload it. We are working on adding a way to indicate whether or not you want the GPS data extracted or not.

emily
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 745

Re: New Edit Page

Post Mon May 09, 2011 4:37 pm


mccartney wrote:Just discovered a new glitch as I was adding the "link=none" definition to my slideshow options in my root gallery description field.

If I use the new edit tool to do this, my copyright symbol displays on the home page as © instead of just ©
The new edit tool is adding the ALT character 0194 in front of the copyright symbol.

I tested this a few times using the new edit tool and the original tool and it does not happen with the old edit tool.

Got this fixed. It was only affecting the root gallery.

rsbfotos
 
Posts: 372

Re: SLIDE SHOW PROBLEM !!

Post Mon May 09, 2011 6:55 pm


I am staying with the old/original edit system so have not changed or even tried the new one. I have not checked on my gallerys for a few weeks until now.

I just noticed, on my 'root gallery' page where I have a slide show, that all my slide show images NOW have a blue border. They did not before (institution of all the new Pbase changes) AND I do not want a blue border there . I have not added or changed any code on my gallerys for at least 6 or 8 months.
What Gives???

Just checked my other slide shows in a few of my gallerys and every image in those ALSO have blue borders.!!!! ???? It looks horrible!!!

http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/wild_mon ... _eggeclose
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/wild_mon ... oj_eclose1
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/new
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/flora
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/potpourri

Pbase/Emily, .... Explaination please!!!!
---------------------------------------------------
rsbfotos
You can't see the forest when you sneeze.

parpho
 
Posts: 235

Re: SLIDE SHOW PROBLEM !!

Post Tue May 10, 2011 1:08 am


10kzoomfz wrote:I am staying with the old/original edit system so have not changed or even tried the new one. I have not checked on my gallerys for a few weeks until now.

I just noticed, on my 'root gallery' page where I have a slide show, that all my slide show images NOW have a blue border. They did not before (institution of all the new Pbase changes) AND I do not want a blue border there . I have not added or changed any code on my gallerys for at least 6 or 8 months.
What Gives???

Just checked my other slide shows in a few of my gallerys and every image in those ALSO have blue borders.!!!! ???? It looks horrible!!!

http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/wild_mon ... _eggeclose
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/wild_mon ... oj_eclose1
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/new
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/flora
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/potpourri

Pbase/Emily, .... Explaination please!!!!


Just played all your slide shows, using Chrome, and no blue borders appeared. Either it has been fixed or it is local.
Michael

dougj
 
Posts: 2276

Re: SLIDE SHOW PROBLEM !!

Post Tue May 10, 2011 1:14 am


10kzoomfz wrote:I am staying with the old/original edit system so have not changed or even tried the new one. I have not checked on my gallerys for a few weeks until now.

I just noticed, on my 'root gallery' page where I have a slide show, that all my slide show images NOW have a blue border. They did not before (institution of all the new Pbase changes) AND I do not want a blue border there . I have not added or changed any code on my gallerys for at least 6 or 8 months.
What Gives???


I just checked the slide show in your root & Eye to I gallery - no blue borders with FF 4.0.1. Hope it helps.

nitroimage
 
Posts: 38

Re: New Edit Page

Post Tue May 10, 2011 2:12 am


Ok I just gotta toss my comments in the ring here. I uploaded a brand new event gallery today with almost 900 pics since the new edit page went live, and all I can say is, what a TREAT it was to organize my photos! It was actually FUN, and not a painful exercise that I had to spend hours on before I got the order the way I wanted. Organizing my event photos is so important to me, and this has just made the process soooo much easier! I've been a paying contributor since 2003 and have ALMOST left more than once. I still like it here and with this improvement (and others along the way I hope... hint, hint) I'll continue to keep contributing.

Thanks Slug, Emily et al!!

Blair

rsbfotos
 
Posts: 372

Re: SLIDE SHOW PROBLEM !!

Post Tue May 10, 2011 3:25 am


dougj wrote:
10kzoomfz wrote:I am staying with the old/original edit system so have not changed or even tried the new one. I have not checked on my gallerys for a few weeks until now.

I just noticed, on my 'root gallery' page where I have a slide show, that all my slide show images NOW have a blue border. They did not before (institution of all the new Pbase changes) AND I do not want a blue border there . I have not added or changed any code on my gallerys for at least 6 or 8 months.
What Gives???

I just checked the slide show in your root & Eye to I gallery - no blue borders with FF 4.0.1. Hope it helps.



I guess my post was not clear. I am not talking about the "slideshow function" Pbase provides in the upper right of a gallery page.

I am talking about the few slide shows accomplished by using html code in the gallery edit pages in the 'description' box.

Such as the gallery url's I listed in my OP.
---------------------------------------------------
rsbfotos
You can't see the forest when you sneeze.

rsbfotos
 
Posts: 372

Re: SLIDE SHOW PROBLEM !!

Post Tue May 10, 2011 3:34 am


parpho wrote:
10kzoomfz wrote:I am staying with the old/original edit system so have not changed or even tried the new one. I have not checked on my gallerys for a few weeks until now.

I just noticed, on my 'root gallery' page where I have a slide show, that all my slide show images NOW have a blue border. They did not before (institution of all the new Pbase changes) AND I do not want a blue border there . I have not added or changed any code on my gallerys for at least 6 or 8 months.
What Gives???

Just checked my other slide shows in a few of my gallerys and every image in those ALSO have blue borders.!!!! ???? It looks horrible!!!

http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/wild_mon ... _eggeclose
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/wild_mon ... oj_eclose1
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/new
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/flora
http://www.pbase.com/10kzoomfz/potpourri

Pbase/Emily, .... Explaination please!!!!


Just played all your slide shows, using Chrome, and no blue borders appeared. Either it has been fixed or it is local.
Michael



Thanks for checking but, it is not fixed on my end, and I don't understand how it could be "local". I have done nothing. Haven't even uploaded anything new since 6 March.
---------------------------------------------------
rsbfotos
You can't see the forest when you sneeze.

dougj
 
Posts: 2276

Re: SLIDE SHOW PROBLEM !!

Post Tue May 10, 2011 6:04 am


10kzoomfz wrote:
dougj wrote:
10kzoomfz wrote:I am staying with the old/original edit system so have not changed or even tried the new one. I have not checked on my gallerys for a few weeks until now.

I just noticed, on my 'root gallery' page where I have a slide show, that all my slide show images NOW have a blue border. They did not before (institution of all the new Pbase changes) AND I do not want a blue border there . I have not added or changed any code on my gallerys for at least 6 or 8 months.
What Gives???

I just checked the slide show in your root & Eye to I gallery - no blue borders with FF 4.0.1. Hope it helps.



I guess my post was not clear. I am not talking about the "slideshow function" Pbase provides in the upper right of a gallery page.

I am talking about the few slide shows accomplished by using html code in the gallery edit pages in the 'description' box.

Such as the gallery url's I listed in my OP.


I looked at the images that comprise 2 slide shows, I didn't see blue borders on these images. Perhaps posting a screen capture would help.

PreviousNext

Board index PBase News New Edit Page

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CCBot and 2 guests