Page 1 of 2

How to Make the Header

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 8:11 pm
by 99v6coupe
Please tell me how to make a header like this gallery where it says "Morris Arbor....." on top. How do we make it look like exactly the same as this:

http://www.pbase.com/caramou/morris_arboretum_winners

Thanks.

John

H2 style

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 8:23 pm
by altofran
Hi,

The header generated uses the H2 style. So to modify it, create a CSS stylesheet, and update H2 style with whatever you want. Here is a code sample:

Code: Select all
H2
{
   font: bolder 16pt Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
   letter-spacing: 2px;
   display: block;
   border-bottom: #000000 1px solid;
   color : #222222;
   background: #999999;
   text-align: left;
   padding: 5px;
}

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:00 pm
by 99v6coupe
Thanks but doesn't seem to work. This is what I have:

DIV,BODY,TD,TH,TR,TABLE,FONT,INPUT,LI,UL,FORM,
BLOCKQUOTE,P,B,I,H1,H2,H3,H4,H5 {
font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif;
color : #888888;
background : black;
}

A:link { color : #5865e1}
A:active { color : #d5ae83}
A:visited { color : #5068e3}
A:hover { color : #5b80b7}

.caption {
font-size : 9pt;
color : #dddddd;
font-style : italic;
}

H2
{
font: bolder 16pt Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
letter-spacing: 2px;
display: block;
border-bottom: #000000 1px solid;
color : #222222;
background: #BDB76B;
text-align: right;
padding: 5px;
}


After I update it, it shows black background and the header doesn't even show. What did I do wrong? Thanks.

John

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:07 pm
by altofran
Well,

The CSS means cascading styles; in the code you wrote, H2 is defined at two places, I put them in bold characters. A browser will consider the latest definition of H2, in your code it means the second one. But you say it doesn't work!!

I'm quiest sure that H2 is defined somewhere later. If you provide the whole code of your CSS, I could help more.



99v6coupe wrote:Thanks but doesn't seem to work. This is what I have:

DIV,BODY,TD,TH,TR,TABLE,FONT,INPUT,LI,UL,FORM,
BLOCKQUOTE,P,B,I,H1,H2,H3,H4,H5 {
font-family: arial,helvetica,sans-serif;
color : #888888;
background : black;
}

A:link { color : #5865e1}
A:active { color : #d5ae83}
A:visited { color : #5068e3}
A:hover { color : #5b80b7}

.caption {
font-size : 9pt;
color : #dddddd;
font-style : italic;
}

H2
{
font: bolder 16pt Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
letter-spacing: 2px;
display: block;
border-bottom: #000000 1px solid;
color : #222222;
background: #BDB76B;
text-align: right;
padding: 5px;
}


After I update it, it shows black background and the header doesn't even show. What did I do wrong? Thanks.

John

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:31 pm
by 99v6coupe
That's the whole code I have.
Sorry that I'm so new at this...and still learning. I'm not sure what to do now at this point... :oops:

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:33 pm
by 99v6coupe
Also whatever I typed, it shows up as small case.

same thing happens in my photo galleries:

http://www.pbase.com/99v6coupe

Each title is in small case...how do I change them and delete the under-score symbols? Thanks.

John

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:45 pm
by srijith
99v6coupe wrote:Also whatever I typed, it shows up as small case.

same thing happens in my photo galleries:

http://www.pbase.com/99v6coupe

Each title is in small case...how do I change them and delete the under-score symbols? Thanks.

John


You need to change the "title" field of each gallery. Log in, got to the gallery you want to change, (example http://www.pbase.com/99v6coupe/memories), click on the "edit this gallery" link on top, and in the page that is shown after that, change the "title" as much as you want to get what you want. similarly for the rest of the albums.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:46 pm
by srijith
99v6coupe wrote:That's the whole code I have.
Sorry that I'm so new at this...and still learning. I'm not sure what to do now at this point... :oops:

Your code looks good. I think it could be the fact that you have not put anything in the "title" field (see previous post) for the code to show :)

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 10:48 pm
by 99v6coupe
srijith wrote:You need to change the "title" field of each gallery. Log in, got to the gallery you want to change, (example http://www.pbase.com/99v6coupe/memories), click on the "edit this gallery" link on top, and in the page that is shown after that, change the "title" as much as you want to get what you want. similarly for the rest of the albums.


Thanks and I did try many times but never worked. I typed in 'Memories' with Cap M...but after I update it and check the album, it shows 'memories' with small leter 'm'. Also for other albums, if there's a space in title, it shows '_' under score in-between...

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 11:49 pm
by srijith
99v6coupe wrote:Thanks and I did try many times but never worked. I typed in 'Memories' with Cap M...but after I update it and check the album, it shows 'memories' with small leter 'm'. Also for other albums, if there's a space in title, it shows '_' under score in-between...

Are you sure you tried changing the "title" and not the "gallery name"? Gallery names cannot have spaces and will all be in small letters because the form the part of the full URL.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2003 11:56 pm
by 99v6coupe
srijith wrote:
99v6coupe wrote:Thanks and I did try many times but never worked. I typed in 'Memories' with Cap M...but after I update it and check the album, it shows 'memories' with small leter 'm'. Also for other albums, if there's a space in title, it shows '_' under score in-between...

Are you sure you tried changing the "title" and not the "gallery name"? Gallery names cannot have spaces and will all be in small letters because the form the part of the full URL.


Just did it, thanks! What's gallery name then? Where does it show? Thanks.

BTW, is there anyone that can help me with my style sheet problem? Thanks.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 12:12 am
by srijith
99v6coupe wrote:Just did it, thanks! What's gallery name then? Where does it show? Thanks.

BTW, is there anyone that can help me with my style sheet problem? Thanks.

Gallery name is used to form your gallery's URL. Example for you "a dAy oN mt. RaInier", look at the URL "http://www.pbase.com/99v6coupe/a_day_on_mt_rainier/" the last portion is formed from your gallery name.

AS for the CSS problem, isn't it working now? Seems to work ok atleast in the "a dAy oN mt. RaInier" gallery.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 12:14 am
by 99v6coupe
srijith wrote:
99v6coupe wrote:Just did it, thanks! What's gallery name then? Where does it show? Thanks.

BTW, is there anyone that can help me with my style sheet problem? Thanks.

Gallery name is used to form your gallery's URL. Example for you "a dAy oN mt. RaInier", look at the URL "http://www.pbase.com/99v6coupe/a_day_on_mt_rainier/" the last portion is formed from your gallery name.

AS for the CSS problem, isn't it working now? Seems to work ok atleast in the "a dAy oN mt. RaInier" gallery.


Thanks Once again! Is there a way to put a title in my root gallery?
like in this gallery http://www.pbase.com/caramou/morris_arboretum_winners

I know this link is not root gallery..but i was wondering..thanks.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 12:21 am
by srijith
99v6coupe wrote:Is there a way to put a title in my root gallery?
like in this gallery http://www.pbase.com/caramou/morris_arboretum_winners

I know this link is not root gallery..but i was wondering..thanks.


The link, as you mentioned is not a root gallery. http://www.pbase.com/caramou/ is the root gallery.

If you really want to, you can put a header in the root gallery too. For that you have to:

- use a seperate CSS sheet just for the root gallery
- in this seperate root gallery style sheet, override the class named "galleryheader". So the code would go something like
Code: Select all
.galleryheader
{
   font: bolder 16pt Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
   letter-spacing: 2px;
   display: block;
   border-bottom: #000000 1px solid;
   color : #222222;
   background: #999999;
   text-align: left;
   padding: 5px;
}

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 12:41 am
by 99v6coupe
thanks but under 'edit root gallery', there is no blank box for the 'title'. Where do i put the name for my root galley title if I use the code you provided? Thanks.

John